ECCAS (Gabon)


The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) is comprised of 10 member states:

  • Angola
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Republic of Congo
  • DR Congo
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon

CADRI Support to ECCAS

In 2012, UNDP and CADRI undertook an institutional capacity assessment in disaster risk reduction (DRR) of the ECCAS Secretariat in order to identify existing capacities and gaps of the Secretariat and its technical bodies in addressing disaster risk reduction in ECCAS policies, plans and programmes. The capacity assessment was undertaken on the basis of a tailor-made Institutional Capacity Assessment Tool, based on the CADRI DRR capacity assessment methodology. The capacity assessment mission was the initial phase of the implementation of the UNDP Regional Programme (“Enhanced Regional Capacities in Africa for Preventing and Recovering from Crises Caused by Natural Disasters and Conflicts”) targeting the Regional Economic Commissions’ (RECs). The DRR component of this programme is directed at contributing to the achievement of RCF III outcome “Effective regional mechanisms for disaster preparedness and response” which is set to provide a platform to deliver capacity development initiatives, including provision of technical assistance and policy advice, to strengthen the capacities of the RECs and for them to integrate DRR into their development policies, strategies and mechanisms, thereby lowering the threat level of natural hazards to vulnerable populations.